Agroforestry project at the PeterSilie gardening project

daniel-schlegel-umweltstiftung-projekte-agroforstprojekt-beim-gaertnereiprojekt-petersilie-1

The Glashüpfer e.V. is the sponsoring association for the gardening project PeterSilie and owns a gardening site in Oberweimar near Marburg. The property includes fields and greenhouse areas, which are cultivated ecologically and regeneratively. The association operates on a grassroots democratic and solidarity basis and promotes the ecological, regional, and seasonal supply of food. In addition, educational programs and cultural events are organized on-site.

The past summers with record heatwaves and enormous drought periods, as well as the ongoing loss of biodiversity on agriculturally used land, finally motivated the creation of different land use systems to counteract climate change and species loss, or at least adapt to climatic changes to some extent. Therefore, since the winter of 2023, an agroforestry system with diverse planting material has been established in two planting phases, including:

  • Pear, table grape, apple, persimmon, hazelnut, poplar, field maple, mountain maple, Norway maple, chestnut, littleleaf linden, largeleaf linden, green alder

The structure of the agroforestry system was developed to suit the location, and the various plants and varieties were chosen with care. For example particular importance was given to fungus-resistant and drought-tolerant cultures. Pollard trees were integrated because they are becoming increasingly rare in the cultural landscape here, even though they offer special habitats for various animal species. Moreover, a mix of native and non-native drought-resistant species was used. Planting and maintenance of the agroforestry system is largely carried out by members of the community-supported agriculture (Solawi).

Positive effects of the agroforestry system:

  • Improvement of the microclimate
  • Wind protection, shading, and promotion of dew formation
  • Creation of habitats and reproductive areas for birds, vertebrates, and insects
  • Strengthening of biodiversity
  • Complementing the regional food supply

With the support of this project, the Daniel Schlegel Umweltstiftung promotes the transformation of areas in favour of ecological and regenerative agriculture, which strengthens soil fertility, biodiversity, and cooling.

INFOBOX
danielschlegelumweltstiftung-icon-metro-checkmark
Planting of various trees and hedges
danielschlegelumweltstiftung-icon-feather-map-pin
Weimar (Lahn) in Hesse, Germany
danielschlegelumweltstiftung-icon-handshake
Glashüpfer e.V.
daniel-schlegel-umweltstiftung-projekte-agroforstprojekt-beim-gaertnereiprojekt-petersilie-1
Thanks to the financial support of the Daniel Schlegel Umweltstiftung in the amount of €20,000, 620 new trees, palms and vines were planted in...
The Bioland-certified farm cultivates 30 hectares of arable land and grassland and keeps laying hens, goats, a few young cattle and bee colonies....
With the support of the Daniel Schlegel Umweltstiftung, around 500 additional trees could be planted in February 2023 to complement the existing system....
Scroll to Top

Agroforstprojekt beim Gärtnereiprojekt PeterSilie

daniel-schlegel-umweltstiftung-projekte-agroforstprojekt-beim-gaertnereiprojekt-petersilie-1

Der Glashüpfer e.V. ist der Trägerverein des Gärtnereiprojekts PeterSilie und Eigentümer eines Gärtnereigeländes in Oberweimar nahe Marburg. Auf dem Grundstück befinden sich Acker- und Gewächshausflächen, welche ökologisch und regenerativ bewirtschaftet werden. Der Verein arbeitet basisdemokratisch und solidarisch und fördert die ökologische, regionale und saisonale Versorgung mit Lebensmitteln. Außerdem werden vor Ort Bildungsangebote und kulturelle Veranstaltungen organisiert.

Die vergangenen Sommer mit Rekordhitzewellen und enormen Dürreperioden sowie der andauernde Verlust von Biodiversität auf landwirtschaftlich genutzten Flächen motivierten schließlich dazu, andere Landnutzungssysteme zu gestalten und damit dem Klimawandel und Artenverlust entgegenzuwirken bzw. sich ein Stück weit klimatischen Veränderungen anzupassen. In Zwei Pflanzabschnitten wurde deshalb seit Winter 2023 ein Agroforstsystem mit diversem Pflanzmaterial angelegt, darunter auch:

  • Birne, Tafeltraube, Apfel, Kaki, Haselnuss, Pappel, Feldahorn, Bergahorn, Spitzahorn, Esskastanie, Winterlinde, Sommerlinde, Grünerle

Die Struktur des Agroforstsystems wurde passend zum Standort entwickelt und die verschiedenen Pflanzen und Sorten mit Bedacht gewählt. Besonderen Stellenwert bekamen beispielsweise pilzwiderstandsfähige und trockentolerante Kulturen. Kopfbäume wurden integriert, weil diese in der Kulturlandschaft hierzulande immer weniger auftreten, obwohl sie besondere Habitate für verschiedene Tierarten bieten. Außerdem wurde auf eine Mischung aus heimischen und nicht heimischen trockenresistenten Arten gesetzt. Pflanzung und Pflege des Agroforstsystems erfolgt zu großen Teilen durch die Mitglieder der solidarischen Landwirtschaft (Solawi).

Positive Auswirkungen durch das Agroforstsystem:

  • Verbesserung des Mikroklimas
  • Windschutz, Verschattung und Förderung der Taubildung
  • Bildung Habitats- und Reproduktionsflächen für Vögel, Wirbeltiere und Insekten
  • Stärkung der Biodiversität
  • Ergänzung der regionalen Lebensmittelversorgung

Mit der Förderung dieses Projekts unterstützt die Daniel Schlegel Umweltstiftung eine Umgestaltung von Flächen im Sinne einer ökologischen und regenerativen Landwirtschaft, welche Bodenfruchtbarkeit, Biodiversität und Abkühlung stärkt.

INFOBOX
danielschlegelumweltstiftung-icon-metro-checkmark
Pflanzung von diversen Bäumen und Hecken
danielschlegelumweltstiftung-icon-feather-map-pin
Weimar (Lahn) in Hessen, Deutschland
danielschlegelumweltstiftung-icon-handshake
Glashüpfer e.V.
daniel-schlegel-umweltstiftung-projekte-agroforstprojekt-beim-gaertnereiprojekt-petersilie-1
Um das Projekt „Klimaretten Selbermachen“ zu unterstützen wurde durch die Daniel Schlegel Umweltstiftung die Pflanzung von 620 Bäumen, Palmen und Ranken in einem Agroforst...
Die 3-tägige Pflanzaktion wurde vom Team der Baumschule Resilia angeleitet und vom lokalen Landwirt technisch unterstützt....
Mit Unterstützung der Daniel Schlegel Umweltstiftung konnten deshalb im Februar 2023 rund 500 weitere Bäume gepflanzt werden....
Nach oben scrollen