Tree planting in Fundacion Natura's El Silencio reserve in Colombia

The Colombian NGO Fundacion Natura has been involved in nature conservation since 1984. This makes them an absolute pioneer in Colombia in the field of environmental protection. One of the nature reserves of the non-profit organisation is "El Silencio" in the central Andes. The reserve is officially recognised by the government as a private nature reserve.

Thanks to a donation of 12,423.60 euros from the Daniel Schlegel Umweltstiftung, Fundacion Natura was able to plant 2,676 trees in the reserve. They received support from many volunteers. Among the seedlings were 16 different native species. In the following three years, care will be provided for the seedlings to create the best conditions for growth. Fundacion Natura's own park rangers protect the site and the plants.

Involved Parties

Fundacion Natura
Daniel Schlegel Umweltstiftung

The reserve is used by many people from the city and the whole surrounding area as a recreational area on weekends. Fundacion Natura basically pursues the ecological restoration of Andean forests and the conservation of water resources in the reserve. Since 2010, degraded pastures there have been converted into forests with the help of ecological restoration techniques. This strengthens biodiversity. In addition, the participation of volunteers in the planting measures raises awareness of the importance of a healthy forest. After all, restoring forests into intact ecosystems cools the planet and is an effective measure against the climate crisis.

en_GBEN

Baumpflanzungen im Reservat El Silencio von Fundacion Natura in Kolumbien

INFOBOX

Trockenheit und verloren gegangene Andenwälder
Renaturierung ehemaliger Weideflächen
Pflanzung von 2.676 Bäumen mit heimischer NGO Fundacion Natura

Die kolumbianische NGO Fundacion Natura betreibt bereits seit 1984 Naturschutz. Damit nehmen sie in Kolumbien im Bereich Umweltschutz eine absolute Vorreiterrolle ein. Eines der Naturschutzreservate der gemeinnützigen Organisation ist „El Silencio“ in den zentralen Anden. Das Reservat wird von der Regierung offiziell als privates Naturschutzgebiet anerkannt.

Dank einer Spende der Daniel Schlegel Umweltstiftung in Höhe von 12.423,60 Euro konnte Fundacion Natura im Reservat 2.676 Bäume pflanzen. Dabei bekamen sie Unterstützung von vielen Freiwilligen. Unter den Setzlingen befanden sich 16 verschiedene einheimische Arten. In den folgenden drei Jahren wird eine Pflege der Jungpflanzen gewährleistet, um beste Bedingungen für das Wachstum zu schaffen. Fundacion Natura’s eigene Parkranger schützen das Gelände und die Pflanzen.

Das Reservat wird von vielen Menschen aus der Stadt und dem ganzen Umland am Wochenende als Naherholungsgebiet genutzt. Grundsätzlich verfolgt Fundacion Natura im Reservat die ökologische Wiederherstellung von Andenwäldern und die Erhaltung von Wasserressourcen. Seit 2010 werden dort degradierte Weideflächen mit Hilfe von ökologischen Wiederherstellungstechniken in Wälder umgewandelt. Das stärkt die Artenvielfalt. Zudem sensibilisiert die Teilnahme von Freiwilligen an den Pflanzmaßnahmen für die Wichtigkeit eines gesunden Waldes. Denn das Wiederherstellen von Wäldern in intakte Ökosysteme kühlt den Planeten und ist eine wirksame Maßnahme gegen die Klimakrise.

de_DEDE