Greening of the educational and leisure center Delta Cultura

INFOBOX

Delta Cultura Education Centre for up to 300 children
Greening of the site
Fruit, vegetables and medicinal products through planting of useful trees

On Capeverdean island Santiago in the northern part of the city Tarrafal there is the educational and leisure center Delta Cultura that was founded by Florian Wegenstein and his wife Marisa in 2002. Once starting with six footballs, today up to 300 children are looked after daily. The offer includes homework done under supervision, football as social evolution, IT, art, foreign languages and music. Furthermore since the year 2016 there is a kindergarten for children from 4 years that daily supervises 26 children. Consequently children and juveniles of one of the poorest countries on earth get access to education and knowledge and they positively get accompanied in their personal development.

The Daniel Schlegel Umweltstiftung in cooperation with Delta Cultura and some local organisations now plans to plant some vegetables and trees. With the project comes a permaculture kitchen garden that creates permanent working and close-to-nature cycles in which humans, animals and plants live together. By being integrated into continuing cultivation and maintenance of the gardening project on top the youngsters learn economically and socially sustainable management with given resources. The crop regularly is to be used in cooking classes in the kitchen of the center.

To protect the kitchen garden from numerous sheeps, goats, cows and pigs that are running around free in the area, a green fence with drip irrigation shall be built around the terrain. Furthermore the green fence will be bristled with several trees like the common jujube, acacias, figs and flame trees. The irrigation of the fence proportionally is to be ensured at the hands of Delta Culturas three-chamber graywater plant and the local waterworks.

Moreover on the verge of sidewards of the area located football pitch there is a 10 metres by 100 metres sized area that will subserve for forestation of moringa trees. Intention is the planting of 100 trees. With the bowery of moringa the plan is to sell products like tea, powder, seed and oil what could co-fund the operating costs of the center. Besides the children become acquainted with usage and healing power of moringa.

The project is a typical win-win situation and through implementation even several goals can be realized. Planting measures, kitchen garden as well as their required maintenance, cultivation and irrigation encourage the childrens ecological awareness and train them in organic farming. The vegetable garden enables the supply with homegrown and in addition healthy foods. The disposal of moringa products will yield a profit in the medium-run and counteract the camps increasing operational costs that are caused by continuous growth. Thereby Delta Cultura is strengthened in its work and on top we are able to plant miscellaneous trees. To improve the living conditions of people plus oppose climate change by planting trees is the main focus of the foundation.

en_GBEN

Begrünung des Bildungs - und Freizeitzentrums Delta Cultura​

Auf der kapverdischen Insel Santiago befindet sich im nördlichen Teil der Stadt Tarrafal das Bildungs- und Freizeitzentrum Delta Cultura, das 2002 von Florian Wegenstein und seiner Frau Marisa gegründet wurde. Hatte einst alles mit nur sechs Fußbällen begonnen, werden dort heute täglich bis zu 300 Kinder betreut. Zum Angebot gehören Hausaufgabenbetreuung, Fußball als soziale Entwicklung, IT, Kunst, Fremdsprachen und Musik. Zudem gibt es seit 2016 einen Kindergarten für Kinder im Alter von 4 Jahren, der täglich 26 Kinder betreut. Somit wird Kindern und Jugendlichen eines der ärmsten Länder der Welt der Zugang zu Bildung und Wissen ermöglicht und sie werden in ihrer Persönlichkeitsentwicklung positiv begleitet.

Die Daniel Schlegel Stiftung plant nun in Zusammenarbeit mit Delta Cultura und einigen örtlich ansässigen Organisationen ein Begrünungsobjekt. Dabei soll auf dem Gelände ein Permakultur Gemüsegarten entstehen, der dauerthaft funktionierende und naturnahe Kreisläufe schafft, in denen Menschen, Tiere und Pflanzen zusammen leben. Die Kinder lernen dadurch ökonomisch und sozial nachhaltiges Wirtschaften mit den vorhandenen Ressourcen, indem sie in die fortlaufende Pflege und Versorgung des Gartenprojekts integriert werden. Die Ernte soll regelmäßig in Kochkursen in der Zentrumsküche verwendet werden.

Beteiligte

Delta Cultura Cabo Verde
Daniel Schlegel Umweltstiftung

Um den Garten vor den vielen frei herumlaufenden Tieren wie Schafe, Ziegen, Kühe und Schweine zu schützen, soll um das Gelände ein grüner Zaun mit Tröpfchenbewässerung errichtet werden. Zudem wird der Zaun mit einigen Bäumen wie der indischen Dattel, Akazien, Feigen und Flammenbäumen gespickt. Die Bewässerung des Zaunes wird zu Teilen durch Delta Culturas Drei-Kammer-Grauwasseranlage und durch das örtliche Wasserwerk erfolgen.

Zudem gibt es am Rande des seitlich des Gelände gelegenen Fußballplatzes noch eine etwa 10 Meter mal 100 Meter große Fläche, die für die Aufforstung von Moringabäumen genutzt werden soll. Geplant sind 100 Stück. Durch die Pflanzung von Moringabäumen wird der Verkauf von Moringaprodukten wie Tee, Pulver, Samen und Öl angestrebt, was die Betriebskosten des Zentrums mitfinanzieren soll. Außerdem lernen die Kinder die Verwendung und Heilwirkung von Moringa kennen.

Das Projekt bietet eine klassische Win-win-Situation und durch die Umsetzung werden gleich mehrere Ziele realisiert. Die Begrünungsmaßnahmen, der Gemüsegarten sowie deren erforderliche Bewirtschaftung, Pflege und Bewässerung fördern das Umweltbewusstsein der Kinder und schulen sie in biologischem Anbau. Der Gemüsegarten ermöglicht eine Versorgung durch selbst angebaute und darüber hinaus gesunde Lebensmittel. Mittelfristig wird der Verkauf der Moringaprodukte Gewinn abwerfen und den durch das kontinuierliche Wachstum des Camps steigenden Kosten entgegenwirken. Somit wird Delta Cultura in seinem Wirken bestärkt und zusätzlich können wir diverse Bäume pflanzen. Die Lebensumstände von Menschen zu verbessern und dem Klimawandel durch die Pflanzung von Bäumen entgegenzutreten, ist das absolute Hauptaugenmerk der Stiftung.

de_DEDE