Planting floodplain forest in Havelland

The Lower Havel is one of the most important wetlands in Europe. For decades it has been straightened, dyked, wet meadows drained and side arms removed. This resulted in the loss of habitat for countless animal species. Nevertheless, it is still a unique fauna and flora in Central Europe with about 1,000 endangered and protected species.

Since 2005, NABU has been in charge of the largest river restoration project in Europe. Among other things, the Naturschutzbund Deutschland ensures the dismantling of stone bank reinforcements, the removal of dikes and the connection of oxbow lakes. In addition, floodplain areas and wetlands are secured and new floodplain forest is planted.

Involved Parties

NABU
Daniel Schlegel Umweltstiftung

With a sum of 50,000 euros, the DSUS has made it possible to reforest five hectares of floodplain forest. 5,500 trees were planted along the "Salzhavel" meadows, on the Gülper Havel and on a foreshore south of Parey. Among them are about 3,500 willow species such as almond willow, purple willow, salt willow, ear willow and some black alders as well as fluttering elms, field elms, ash trees, hornbeams, English oaks and wild apple trees.

The measures will make previously inaccessible areas of the banks and water bodies habitable again for plants and animals. In addition, improved natural dynamics of the water will form various structures such as reed fringes, sandbanks, break-off edges and the like. The floodplains are regularly flooded again. The optimised conditions create important habitats so that many animal species return.

 

en_GBEN

Pflanzung von Auenwald im Havelland

INFOBOX

Begradigung der Havel über viele Jahrzehnte
Renaturierung und Wiederherstellung von Altarmen
Unterstützung der Auenwaldpflanzung mit 5.500 Bäumen

Die untere Havel ist eines der bedeutsamsten Feuchtgebiete Europas. Über Jahrzehnte hinweg wurde sie begradigt, eingedeicht, Feuchtwiesen trockengelegt und Seitenarme entfernt. Das hatte für unzählige Tierarten den Verlust des Lebensraums zur Folge. Trotzdem handelt es sich immer noch um eine in Mitteleuropa einmalige Tier- und Pflanzenwelt mit etwa 1.000 bedrohten und geschützten Tierarten.

Seit 2005 betreut der NABU das größte Flussrenaturierungsprojekt in Europa. Unter anderem sorgt der Naturschutzbund Deutschland für den Rückbau von Uferbefestigungen aus Stein, die Abtragung von Deichen und den Anschluss von Altarmen. Außerdem werden Auenflächen und Feuchtgebiete gesichert und neuer Auenwald gepflanzt.

Mit einer Summe in Höhe von 50.000 Euro ermöglicht die DSUS die Aufforstung von fünf Hektar Auenwald. 5.500 Bäume wurden entlang, der „Salzhavel“-wiesen, an der Gülper Havel und an einem Vorflutufer südlich von Parey gepflanzt. Darunter sind etwa 3.500 Weidenarten wie Mandelweide, Purpurweide, Salweide, Ohrweide und einige Schwarzerlen sowie Flatterulmen, Feldulmen, Eschen, Hainbuchen, Stieleichen und Wildapfelbäume.

Durch die Maßnahmen werden bisher unzugängliche Bereiche der Ufer und Wasserkörper für Pflanzen und Tiere wieder bewohnbar gemacht. Zudem soll eine verbesserte Eigendynamik des Wassers verschiedene Strukturen wie Schilfsäume, Sandbänke, Abbruchkanten und ähnliches bilden. Die Auen werden wieder regelmäßig überflutet. Die optimierten Bedingungen schaffen wichtige Lebensräume, sodass viele Tierarten zurückkehren.

de_DEDE