Reforestation of the Făgăraș Mountains in the Southern Carpathians of Romania

INFOBOX

Decades of illegal deforestation of Europe's last virgin forests
Europe's green lung at risk
Planting of 3,500 trees together with NGO Agent Green

Romania is home to Europe's last virgin forests. However, illegal logging has been enormous in recent decades. For many years, the local organisation Agent Green has been fighting for the restoration and preservation of the forests. Therefore, they conclude contracts with landowners to reforest cleared forest areas. Agent Green has already been committed to environmental protection for eleven years and has a growing community.

With a donation of EUR 15,605.00, we supported the reforestation of one hectare with a number of 3,500 trees. Deciduous trees are planted at the lower levels and conifers belonging to the native plant population at about 1,800 - 2,000 metres. The forest is then to grow together naturally at the middle altitudes.

In order for the trees to survive, the NGO has adapted its maintenance programme. The newly planted forests will be watered, weeded and protected over the next seven years. It has been contractually agreed with the owner of the land, the Foundation Conservation Carpathia (FCC), that the young forests are under nature conservation and that only strictly regulated ecotourism is allowed. Otherwise, no capital may be made from the land.

In response to the high level of illegal logging, Agent Green has also been working on innovative concepts to protect the trees. Drones and sensors on the trees are designed to react to chainsaw noises and sound the alarm at an early stage. With this commitment, primeval forests that have been lost are gradually being restored. Romania still has about two thirds of the continent's last primeval forests - with their contribution to the climate, they can be called the lungs of Europe. The areas are also the habitat of numerous animal species and essential for biodiversity.

The plantations are carried out by Agent Green and volunteers. This has the positive effect of making the population more and more aware of the importance of the forest. The costs for planting and maintenance per tree are lower than in Western and Central Europe, so that many trees can be planted with relatively little investment.

Here are great impressions of the planting action in autumn 2020:
https://vimeo.com/482101914

en_GBEN

Aufforstung des Făgăraș-Gebirges in den Südkarpaten Rumäniens

In Rumänien befinden sich Europas letzte Urwälder. Der illegale Holzeinschlag war in den letzten Jahrzehnten jedoch enorm. Seit vielen Jahren kämpft die einheimische Organisation Agent Green für die Wiederherstellung und Erhaltung der Wälder. Deshalb schließen sie Verträge mit Landbesitzer:innen, um gerodete Waldflächen wieder aufzuforsten. Agent Green engagiert sich bereits seit elf Jahren für den Umweltschutz und verfügt über eine wachsende Community.

Mit einer Spende in Höhe von 15.605,00 EUR haben wir die Aufforstung eines Hektars mit einer Anzahl von 3.500 Bäumen unterstützt. In den unteren Ebenen werden Laubgehölze und auf etwa 1.800 – 2.000 Metern Nadelbäume gepflanzt, die zur heimischen Pflanzenpopulation gehören. Der Wald soll dann auf den mittleren Höhen auf natürliche Art und Weise zusammenwachsen.

Beteiligte

Agent Green
Daniel Schlegel Umweltstiftung

Damit die Bäume überleben, hat die NGO ihr Pflegeprogramm angepasst. Die neu gepflanzten Wälder werden demnach über die nächsten sieben Jahre hinweg gewässert, gejätet und geschützt. Mit der Flächeneigentümerin, der Foundation Conservation Carpathia (FCC), ist vertraglich vereinbart, dass die jungen Wälder unter Naturschutz stehen und nur streng reglementierter Ökotourismus betrieben werden darf. Anderweitig darf kein Kapital aus den Flächen geschlagen werden.

Als Reaktion auf den starken illegalen Holzeinschlag hat sich Agent Green zudem mit innovativen Konzepten zum Schutz der Bäume beschäftigt. Drohnen und Sensoren an den Bäumen sollen auf Kettensägengeräusche reagieren und frühzeitig Alarm schlagen.

Mit dem Engagement werden verloren gegangene Urwälder sukzessiv wiederhergestellt. In Rumänien gibt es noch rund zwei Drittel der letzten Urwälder des Kontinents – mit ihrem Beitrag zum Klima kann man sie als die Lunge Europas bezeichnen. Die Gebiete sind noch dazu Lebensraum zahlreicher Tierarten und essenziell für die Artenvielfalt.

Die Pflanzungen werden von Agent Green und Freiwilligen durchgeführt. Das hat den positiven Effekt, dass die Wichtigkeit des Waldes mehr und mehr ins Bewusstsein der Bevölkerung gerückt wird. Die Kosten für Pflanzung und Pflege pro Baum sind geringer als in West- und Zentraleuropa, sodass durch verhältnismäßig wenig Mitteleinsatz viele Bäume gepflanzt werden können.

Hier gibt es großartige Eindrücke von der Pflanzaktion im Herbst 2020:
https://vimeo.com/482101914

de_DEDE