Financial support for the BUND lawsuits against the Datteln 4 hard coal-fired power plant

Mercury emissions into the river Lippe (cooling tower waste water), pollutant deposits in the European FFH protected areas Cappenberger Wälder and Lippeauen, noise pollution and handling of hazardous substances such as ammonia on the power plant site - this is the balance of the new hard coal-fired power plant Datteln 4. While distances of 1,000 metres to residential buildings are being discussed for wind power plants and even 1,500 metres have been decided in NRW, Datteln 4 is located less than 450 metres away from a residential area. On top of that, there is a children's hospital within a 1,000-metre radius, where also lung diseases are treated. To make matters worse, due to pending legal proceedings, the commissioning of the hard-coal-fired power plant was illegal.

The company Uniper obtains the hard coal for the power plant mainly from high-risk countries. Especially in Russia and Colombia, the raw material is mined with fatal ecological effects and disregard for human rights. In Colombia, 55,000 people were displaced and the murder of around 3,100 people by paramilitary institutions are linked to the coal companies.

Involved Parties

BUND Landesverband Nordrhein-Westfalen
Daniel Schlegel Umweltstiftung

As early as 2007, BUND successfully sued against the Datteln 4 project and obtained a first temporary construction stop. The operator at the time, E.ON, undertook to demolish and recultivate the power plant if it failed in court. In 2008, BUND filed further lawsuits against the permits. In 2012, as a result of BUND's lawsuits, the notice of approval for construction and operation was finally overturned completely and work on the power plant was stopped.

Construction should have been stopped and the site deconstructed, as E.ON had once promised. Instead, the state government of the time, made up of the SPD and the Greens, adapted the law and made a decision to deviate from the objectives, which made it possible to change the regional planning projects. The city of Datteln was able to draw up a new development plan. In 2015, BUND reacted to this new development plan with a standards control complaint. Nevertheless, in 2017 the red-green state government granted a new immission control permit for the power plant, which at the time already belonged to the E.ON spin-off Uniper. BUND is also suing against this permit.

Fortunately, BUND has been able to win every lawsuit against Datteln 4 so far, and lawsuits are still pending. The fact is: Datteln 4 is still in operation without a legally binding permit. On top of that, the federal government disregarded the recommendations of the "Growth, Structural Change and Employment" commission set up in 2018, which it promised to implement one-to-one. Its final report states on page 62:
"The Commission continues to recommend that the construction of new coal-fired power plants no longer be authorised. For power plants that have already been built but are not yet in operation, the Commission recommends seeking a negotiated solution not to bring these power plants into operation."

Since 2020, the Finnish energy group Fortum has held the majority shares in Uniper. DB and RWE are bound by long-term purchase agreements to buy the coal-fired electricity. Even RWE no longer wants the overpriced coal-fired electricity and has tried several times to dissolve the contract without success. BUND is fighting ceaselessly for the decommissioning of the climate and health killer Datteln 4 and still has three lawsuits pending. With a donation of 20,000 euros, we support the legal steps on the part of BUND and hope for an early end to this debacle. It is encouraging at this point that BUND has already saved the Hambach Forest through successful legal proceedings.

 

en_GBEN

Unterstützung der BUND Klagen gegen das Steinkohlekraftwerk Datteln 4

Quecksilberausstoß in die Lippe (Kühlturmabwässer), Schadstoffablagerungen in den europäischen FFH-Schutzgebieten Cappenberger Wälder und Lippeauen, Lärmbelästigung und Handhabung gefährlicher Stoffe wie Ammoniak auf dem Kraftwerksgelände – das ist die Bilanz des neuen Steinkohlekraftwerks Datteln 4. Während für Windkraftanlagen Abstände von 1.000 Metern zu Wohnbauten diskutiert werden und in NRW sogar 1.500 Meter beschlossen wurden, befindet sich Datteln 4 weniger als 450 Meter entfernt von einem Wohngebiet. Obendrein befindet sich innerhalb eines 1.000-Meter-Radius ein Kinderkrankenhaus, in dem auch Lungenerkrankungen behandelt werden. Zu allem Überfluss war aufgrund anhängender Verfahren die Inbetriebnahme des Steinkohlekraftwerks rechtswidrig.

Das Unternehmen Uniper bezieht die Steinkohle für das Kraftwerk vorwiegend aus Risikoländern. Besonders in Russland und Kolumbien wird der Rohstoff unter fatalen ökologischen Auswirkungen und Missachtung der Menschenrechte abgebaut.  In Kolumbien wurden 55.000 Menschen vertrieben und die Ermordung von rund 3.100 Menschen durch paramilitärische Einrichtungen stehen in Verbindung mit den Kohlekonzernen.

Beteiligte

BUND Landesverband Nordrhein-Westfalen
Daniel Schlegel Umweltstiftung

Bereits 2007 klagte der BUND erfolgreich gegen das Vorhaben Datteln 4 und erwirkte einen ersten temporären Baustopp. Der damalige Betreiber E.ON. verpflichtete sich, das Kraftwerk abzureißen und zu rekultivieren, falls es final gerichtlich scheitern sollte. 2008 reichte der BUND weitere Klagen gegen die Genehmigungen ein. Im Jahr 2012 kippte aufgrund Klagen des BUNDs der Genehmigungsbescheid für den Bau und Betrieb schließlich komplett und die Arbeiten am Kraftwerk wurden eingestellt.

Der Bau hätte gestoppt und das Gelände zurückgebaut werden müssen, wie es E.ON. einst zugesagt hatte. Stattdessen passte die damalige Landesregierung aus SPD und Grünen das Recht an und traf eine Zielabweichungsentscheidung, womit ein Abändern der regionalplanerischen Vorhaben ermöglicht wurde. Die Stadt Datteln konnte einen neuen Bebauungsplan aufstellen. 2015 reagiert der BUND mit einer Normenkontrollbeschwerde auf diesen neuen Bebauungsplan. Trotzdem erteilt die rot-grüne Landesregierung im Jahr 2017 eine neue immissionsschutzrechtliche Genehmigung für das Kraftwerk, das zu der Zeit bereits zur E.ON-Abspaltung Uniper gehörte. Der BUND klagt auch gegen diese Genehmigung.

Glücklicherweise konnte der BUND bisher jede Klage gegen Datteln 4 gewinnen und es laufen fortwährend offene Klagen. Fakt ist: Datteln 4 ist weiterhin ohne rechtskräftige Genehmigung in Betrieb. Obendrein missachtete die Bundesregierung die Empfehlungen der 2018 eingesetzten Kommission „Wachstum, Strukturwandel und Beschäftigung“, die sie eins-zu-eins umzusetzen versprach. In deren Abschlussbericht heißt es auf Seite 62:
„Die Kommission empfiehlt weiterhin, den Bau neuer Kohlekraftwerke nicht mehr zu genehmigen. Für bereits gebaute, aber noch nicht im Betrieb befindliche Kraftwerke empfiehlt die Kommission, eine Verhandlungslösung zu suchen, um diese Kraftwerke nicht in Betrieb zu nehmen.“

Seit 2020 hält der finnische Energiekonzern Fortum die Mehrheitsanteile an Uniper. Die DB und RWE sind durch langjährige Abnahmeverträge an die Abnahme des Kohlestroms gebunden. Selbst RWE möchte den überteuerten Kohlestrom nicht mehr und hat mehrfach erfolglos versucht, den Vertrag aufzulösen. Der BUND kämpft unaufhörlich für die Stilllegung des Klima- und Gesundheitskillers Datteln 4 und hat noch drei Klagen anhängig. Mit einer Spende in Höhe von 20.000 Euro unterstützen wir die juristischen Schritte seitens des BUNDs und hoffen auf ein baldiges Ende dieses Debakels. Es macht an dieser Stelle Mut, dass der BUND durch jahrelangen Kampf und erfolgreiche juristische Verfahren bereits den Hambacher Forst gerettet hat.

 

de_DEDE