Affordable Housing

There is a housing crisis in Germany's big cities, which is mainly characterised and promoted by a lack of affordable housing, shrinkage of the social housing stock and, moreover, entrenchment of poverty. This particularly affects people in the low-wage sector - people receiving transfer payments, recognised refugees and single parents. Two and a half years ago, Horst Seehofer promised to build 1.5 million new homes by the end of the legislative period, the so-called "housing offensive". In addition, there were five billion euros for social housing construction, which should make 115,000 flats possible. Recently, an extremely positive summary of the goals set followed. By the end of 2021, the 1.5 million dwellings will have been reached. Moreover, 300,000 new flats in 2020 are a record, despite the pandemic.

There is massive criticism from real estate and social associations as well as from the opposition. There would be failures in housing promotion and in securing affordable housing. Hundreds of flats lose their social commitment every day, one flat every 12 minutes. Too few new social housing units cannot compensate for this. According to the Green Party, existing social housing should be better protected. Between 2002 and 2019, 1.2 million social housing units disappeared from the market, which amounts to a terrible failure on the part of the federal government. In addition, rents are exploding and average earners have fewer and fewer opportunities in the housing market. This situation is particularly acute in conurbations. Often, suitable housing - in terms of needs, size and facilities - is no longer available at all, which poses serious hurdles, especially for households with many children, single parents and people with disabilities.

The overcrowded conurbations are contrasted by almost 2 million vacant buildings in small towns and rural areas. There, housing is often still affordable. That is why the Deutsche Städte- und Gemeindebund is calling for greater promotion of these locations. In general, increasing regulations and bureaucratic burdens have a deterrent effect on many small landlords. More than 20,000 different regulations paralyse potential building projects. International investment companies are entering the market and driving out private landlords as owners. The housing market is under severe threat. The centre of criticism is Interior Minister Horst Seehofer, who includes current building projects and building permits in his statistics and thus glosses over the figures. By the end of 2021, there will probably only be an estimated 1.2 million new flats.

Since there is not enough affordable housing and the federal and state governments are not taking sufficient improvement measures, the Daniel Schlegel Umweltstiftung would like to contribute to improving the situation by providing rental flats from the foundation's stock that become available at moderate rents. One flat was made available to the Koepjohann'sche Stiftung. The Koepjohann'sche Stiftung primarily offers contact points for women - including single parents in need of protection and shelter and victims of domestic violence. Hestia e.V., which runs shelter flats, a housing agency for women in violent situations and a women's shelter, is also sometimes served with affordable housing.

en_GBEN

Erschwinglicher Wohnraum

In Deutschlands Großstädten herrscht eine Wohnungskrise, die vor allem durch einen Mangel an bezahlbarem Wohnraum, Schrumpfung des Sozialwohnungsbestandes und darüber hinaus Verfestigung von Armut geprägt und gefördert wird. Dabei trifft es insbesondere Menschen im Niedriglohnsektor – Menschen, die Transferleistungen beziehen, anerkannte Geflüchtete und Alleinerziehende. Vor zweieinhalb Jahren kam von Horst Seehofer das Versprechen, die sogenannte „Wohnraumoffensive“, bis zum Ende der Legislaturperiode 1,5 Millionen neue Wohnungen zu bauen. Dazu gab es fünf Milliarden Euro für sozialen Wohnungsbau, was 115.000 Wohnungen ermöglichen soll. Kürzlich folgte ein äußerst positives Fazit über die gesteckten Ziele. Ende 2021 werde man die 1,5 Millionen Wohnungen erreicht haben. Zudem stellen 300.000 neue Wohnungen trotz Pandemie in 2020 einen Rekord dar.

Massive Kritik gibt es von Immobilien- und Sozialverbänden sowie von der Opposition. Es gäbe Versäumnisse bei der Wohnungsbauförderung und bei der Sicherung bezahlbaren Wohnraums. Täglich verlieren hunderte Wohnungen die Sozialbindung, alle 12 Minuten eine Wohnung. Zu wenig neue Sozialwohnungen können dem nicht die Waage halten. Laut den Grünen müssten demnach bestehende Sozialwohnungen besser geschützt werden. Zwischen 2002 und 2019 sind 1,2 Millionen Sozialwohnungen vom Markt verschwunden, was einem schlimmen Versagen der Bundesregierung gleichkommt. Außerdem explodieren Mietpreise und Durchschnittsverdiener:innen haben am Wohnungsmarkt immer weniger Chancen. Vor allem in Ballungsräumen spitzt sich dieser Zustand zu. Oftmals ist geeigneter Wohnraum – Bedürfnisse, Größe und Ausstattung betreffend – überhaupt nicht mehr verfügbar, was vornehmlich kinderreiche Haushalte, Alleinerziehende und Menschen mit Behinderung vor ernste Hürden stellt.

Den überfüllten Ballungsräumen stehen knapp 2 Millionen leerstehende Gebäude in Kleinstädten und ländlichen Räumen gegenüber. Dort ist der Wohnraum oftmals noch bezahlbar. Deshalb verlangt der Deutsche Städte- und Gemeindebund eine stärkere Förderung dieser Standorte. Generell wirken sich häufende Regulierungen und ansteigende Bürokratielasten abschreckend auf viele Kleinvermieter:innen aus. Über 20.000 verschiedene Vorschriften lähmen potenzielle Bauvorhaben. Internationale Fondsgesellschaften drängen in den Markt und vertreiben private Vermieter:innen als Eigentümer:innen. Der Wohnungsmarkt ist stark gefährdet. Zentrum der Kritik ist Innenminister Horst Seehofer, der aktuelle Baumaßnahmen und Baugenehmigungen in seine Statistiken inkludiert und damit die Zahlen beschönigt. Bis zum Ende des Jahres 2021 wird es wohl geschätzt nur 1,2 Millionen Neubauwohnungen geben.

Da es nicht genügend bezahlbaren Wohnraum gibt und Bund und Länder keine ausreichenden Verbesserungsmaßnahmen treffen, möchte die Daniel Schlegel Umweltstiftung einen Teil zur Verbesserung der Lage beitragen, indem frei werdende Mietwohnungen aus dem Stiftungsbestand zu moderaten Mietpreisen bereitgestellt werden. Eine Wohnung wurde der Koepjohann’schen Stiftung zur Verfügung gestellt. Die Koepjohann’sche Stiftung bietet vor allem Anlaufstellen für Frauen – darunter schutz- und obdachbedürftige Alleinerziehende und Opfer häuslicher Gewalt. Auch der Verein Hestia, in dessen Trägerschaft sich Zufluchtswohnungen, eine Wohnungsvermittlung für Frauen in Gewaltsituationen und ein Frauenhaus befinden, wird bisweilen mit bezahlbarem Wohnraum bedient.

de_DEDE