Legal enforcement for traffic law in German cities

Daniel Schlegel Umweltstiftung is supporting Deutsche Umwelthilfe e.V. in their purpose to foreclose already decided and valid verdicts.

INFOBOX

Environmentally unfriendly transport infrastructure
Initiation of legal steps for traffic turnaround measures
Support for the lawsuit with 10,000 euros

Deutsche Umwelthilfe e.V. is fighting for the turn of traffic law in German cities. Corresponding court decisions already have been made and are legally binding. German state and provinces are now partially refusing to implement measures according to those decisions. Affected provincial governments are Bavaria, Berlin, Hesse, North Rhine-Westphalia and Baden-Wuerttemberg.

Also the Federal Minister of Transport announced in public that he was determined to ignore the verdicts. All these circumstances force the Deutsche Umwelthilfe to take further legal action and litigate at second and third instance.

The decision against the Bavarian state government and Markus Söder was made 5 years ago. Nevertheless nothing is happening in order to protect people in Munich from exhaust values that are too high. Giant automobile groups like BMW and Audi put lots of pressure on the local politicians and thereby avoid actual implementations in traffic law that would lead to more eco-friendliness but to the disadvantage of the car companies.

Meanwhile Deutsche Umwelthilfe brought the case up to the European Court of Justice (ECJ). They are supposed to clarify if the responsible officials can be forced to comply with the law by coercive detention. Serious violation of EU law caused by the Bavarian state government was already ascertained by the authorities in Luxembourg. At the moment the Deutsche Umwelthilfe is working on litigate 39 lawsuits at last instance. The cost is tremendous and therefore Daniel Schlegel Umweltstiftung threw in 10.000 euros to help reaching the goals.

en_GBEN

Vollstreckung des rechtskräftigen Urteils in der Verkehrswende​

Die Daniel Schlegel Umweltstiftung unterstützt die Deutsche Umwelthilfe in der Umsetzung der Zwangsvollstreckung bereits gesprochener und rechtskräftiger Gerichtsurteile.

INFOBOX

Umweltunfreundliche Verkehrsinfrastruktur
Einleitung juristischer Schritte für Maßnahmen zur Verkehrswende
Unterstützung der Klage mit 10.000 Euro

Deutsche Umwelthilfe e.V. kämpft für die Verkehrswende in deutschen Städten. Dem entsprechende Gerichtsurteile wurden bereits gesprochen und sind rechtskräftig. Bund und Länder weigern sich nun teilweise die verbindlichen Maßnahmen umzusetzen. Betroffene Landesregierungen sitzen in Bayern, Berlin, Hessen, Nordrhein-Westfalen und Baden-Württemberg.

Auch Bundesverkehrsminister Scheuer hat öffentlich kundgegeben, die Urteile zu ignorieren. Deshalb ist die Deutsche Umwelthilfe gezwungen, weitere rechtliche Schritte einzuleiten und in zweiter und dritter Instanz zu klagen.

Das Urteil gegen die Bayerische Staatsregierung um Markus Söder ist bereits seit fünf Jahren rechtskräftig. Trotzdem wird seither nichts unternommen, um die Bürger:innen Münchens vor zu hohen Dieselabgaswerten zu schützen. Großkonzerne der Automobilindustrie wie BMW und Audi verhindern mit Druck auf die Landesregierung Änderungen im Verkehrswesen, die zu Ungunsten der Autobauer:innen für mehr Umweltfreundlichkeit sorgen würden.

Mittlerweile hat die Deutsche Umwelthilfe den Fall bis vor den Europäischen Gerichtshof (EuGH) getragen. Dieser soll nun klären, ob die verantwortlichen Amtsträger:innen über eine Zwangshaft zur Einhaltung des Gesetzes gezwungen werden können. Ein schwerwiegender Verstoß gegen EU-Recht durch die Bayerische Staatsregierung wurde durch die Behörden in Luxemburg bereits festgestellt. Aktuell ist die Deutsche Umwelthilfe dabei, insgesamt 39 Klageverfahren in letzter Instanz anzustrengen. Der finanzielle Aufwand für die juristischen Schritte ist enorm. Deshalb trägt die Daniel Schlegel Umweltstiftung mit 10.000 Euro zur Erreichung der Ziele bei.

de_DEDE