Banana plants and fruit trees for hospital in Uganda

INFOBOX

Extreme poverty, diseases and food shortage

Planting of 490 banana plants and 225 fruit trees

Purchase of 2 hectares of land

Supply of patients with food, sale of surplus harvest enables the purchase of medicines

INFOBOX

Kasese District in Uganda

Donation of € 9.000

Znüni Afrikahilfe & St. Joseph Mosati Thank You Jesus Clinic of Father Peter

Father Peter's St. Joseph Mosati Thank You Jesus Clinic is located in the extremely poor district of Kasese in Uganda. Until 2012, Father Peter provided medical care to the poorest people in the community in rented rooms. After land was acquired through donations, construction began on a health clinic, which opened in 2018. People pay what they can spare for treatment. Widows and orphans receive free medical care. The project has so far been largely financed with donations from Znüni Afrikahilfe, which is part of the Catholic pastoral unit in Bad Säckingen.

Meanwhile, the ward has an external reception room, an examination and treatment room, four sickrooms and a nurses' room. A total of 11 nurses can treat diseases such as malaria, typhoid, AIDS, Tuberkulose or diagnose and treat diabetes. After solar panels for lighting the infirmary in the first year, it was also possible to purchase a water filtration system in 2019, which purifies industrial water into bacteria-free drinking water. In addition, an ambulance was purchased in 2019 - all necessary steps to achieve official state recognition.

The hospital is located on its own land, but does not offer any other land for farming. Not far from the ward, Father Peter was able to purchase two acres of land. The Daniel Schlegel Environmental Foundation took over the purchase of the land and will also provide banana plants and trees. A plantation with 490 banana trees will be established on the 9,000 m² of land. In addition, 50 Gilveria and 50 Luziana trees will protect the perennials from the outside and 105 cassava trees and 20 mango trees will provide shade inside the plantation. Maize and beans will serve as intercrops.

The trees provide food for the patients in the ward. In addition, Father Peter plans to support the poorest people in the area by giving them bananas. On the one hand, surplus bananas, mangoes and cassava roots are to be sold to cover the wages of the three farmers in the future. On the other hand, income is to be generated for the purchase of medical consumables. By carrying out this project, we are supporting people in a region where there is great poverty and all help is needed. In addition, we are again planting a few trees for the reception of CO2.

en_GBEN

Bananenstauden und Obstbäume für Krankenhaus in Uganda

INFOBOX

Extreme Armut, Krankheiten und Nahrungsmittelmangel

Pflanzung von 490 Bananenstauden und 225 Obst- und Nutzbäumen

Kauf von 2 Hektar Land

Versorgung der Patient:innen mit Lebensmitteln, Verkauf überschüssiger Erträge ermöglicht Kauf von Medikamenten

INFOBOX

Distrikt Kasese in Uganda

Spende von 9.000 €

Znüni Afrikahilfe & St. Joseph Mosati Thank You Jesus Clinic von Father Peter

Im extrem ärmlichen Distrikt Kasese in Uganda befindet sich die St. Joseph Mosati Thank You Jesus Clinic von Father Peter. Bis zum Jahr 2012 hat Father Peter die ärmsten Menschen der Gemeinde in angemieteten Räumen medizinisch versorgt. Nachdem durch Spendengelder Land erworben werden konnte, begann der Bau einer Krankenstation, die im Jahr 2018 eröffnet wurde. Menschen bezahlen für die Behandlung, was sie erübrigen können. Witwen und Waisen erhalten kostenlose medizinische Versorgung. Finanziert wurde das Projekt bisher zu großen Teilen mit Spendengeldern der Znüni Afrikahilfe, die Teil der katholischen Seelsorgeeinheit in Bad Säckingen ist.

Mittlerweile besitzt die Station einen externen Empfangsraum, ein Untersuchungs- und Behandlungszimmer, vier Krankenzimmer und ein Schwesternzimmer. Insgesamt 11 Pflegekräfte können Krankheiten wie Malaria, Typhus, Aids, Tuberkulose oder Diabetes diagnostizieren und behandeln. Nach Solarpanels zur Beleuchtung der Krankenstation im ersten Jahr konnte 2019 außerdem eine Wasserfilterungsanlage erworben werden, die Brauchwasser zu bakterienfreiem Trinkwasser reinigt. Zudem wurde 2019 ein Krankenwagen angeschafft – alles notwendige Schritte, um eine offizielle staatliche Anerkennung zu erreichen.

Das Krankenhaus befindet sich auf eigenem Land, bietet jedoch keine weiteren Flächen für Ackerbau. Unweit der Station war es Father Peter möglich zwei Acre Land zu erwerben. Die Daniel Schlegel Umweltstiftung übernahm den Landkauf und wird zusätzlich Bananenstauden und Nutzbäume zur Verfügung stellen. Auf den insgesamt etwa 9.000 m² wird eine Plantage mit 490 Bananenstauden entstehen. Dazu werden 50 Gilveria und 50 Luziana Bäume die Stauden von außen schützen und 105 Maniokbäume und 20 Mangobäume innerhalb der Plantage für Schatten sorgen. Als Zwischenfruchtanbau dienen Mais und Bohnen.

Durch die Bäume werden die Patient:innen der Krankenstation mit Nahrung versorgt. Zudem plant Father Peter, die ärmsten Menschen in der Umgebung durch die Abgabe von Bananen zu unterstützen. Überschüssige Bananen, Mangos und Maniokwurzeln sollen einerseits verkauft werden, um so in Zukunft den Lohn der drei Farmer abzudecken. Auf der anderen Seite sollen Erträge für den Kauf von medizinischem Verbrauchsmaterial erwirtschaftet werden. Mit der Durchfühung des Projekts unterstützen wir Menschen in einer Region, wo sehr große Armut herrscht und jede Hilfe notwendig ist. Außerdem pflanzen wir wieder ein paar Bäume für die Aufnahme von CO2.

de_DEDE