Wilderness tracking at the Carl-Bolle elementary school

INFOBOX

City children are removed from nature, hardly any knowledge about plants or animals exists

Learning about nature in a playful way, collecting nature experiences
Carl Bolle Primary School

INFOBOX

Own project since autumn 2021

Funded by donations from the Deutsche Postcode Lottery

German Postcode Lottery

It is hard to imagine that some city children cannot tell a swan from a duck. Knowledge gaps and disconnection from nature are unfortunately not an isolated case among many adolescents. Children lose their appreciation for nature and do not understand the consequences, for example, when they dispose of their rubbish on green spaces.
Particularly in deprived areas, families have few opportunities to take their children on excursions into the green countryside or even to nearby parks. Often there is already a lack of interest in nature on the part of the parents.

Thanks to our wilderness tracking, we enable elementary school students to regularly explore nearby green spaces together with a wilderness educator. The first school from Berlin-Moabit started in the fall of 2021. It is important to us to awaken curiosity for nature in the children, so that they learn with a lot of fun and on their own initiative. During the hours spent together in the fresh air, the children go in search of clues in the urban wilderness. For example, they match prints left in the sandbox to specific animals, smell flowers, feel leaves, listen for distinctive bird calls, and learn about the characteristics of the four seasons. To record their new impressions, we provide the children with a small wilderness diary for important notes. This way they can tell their parents or siblings about their experiences in the evening.

The feedback from the children was very positive at the end of the day. They had fun with the games and with nature. 

Teacher at the Carl Bolle Primary School

We are pleased that we can thus get city children more excited about nature again and impart important knowledge to them in a playful way. With this programme, we are laying a foundation for a more sensitive society that wants to live more in harmony with nature and preserve our environment.

To make the wilderness tracking possible, we sincerely thank the Deutsche Postcode Lotteriefor their financial support.

Discover nature, arouse curiosity

en_GBEN

Wildnistracking an der Carl-Bolle-Grundschule

INFOBOX

Stadtkinder sind von der Natur entrückt, kaum Wissen zu Pflanzen o. Tieren vorhanden

Spielerisches Erlernen von Naturwissen, Sammeln von Naturerlebnissen
Carl-Bolle-Grundschule

INFOBOX

Eigenes Projekt seit Herbst 2021

Durch Spenden der Deutsche Postcode Lotterie finanziert

Deutsche Postcode Lotterie

Kaum vorstellbar, dass einige Stadtkinder nicht einen Schwan von einer Ente unterscheiden können. Wissenslücken und Entkopplung von der Natur sind leider kein Einzelfall bei vielen Heranwachsenden. Die Kinder verlieren die Wertschätzung für die Natur und verstehen nicht die Konsequenzen, wenn sie z.B. ihren Müll auf Grünflächen entsorgen.
Besonders in Brennpunktbezirken haben Familien kaum Möglichkeiten, mit ihrem Nachwuchs Ausflüge ins grüne Umland oder auch nur in nahegelegene Parkanlagen zu machen. Oft mangelt es bereits am Interesse der Eltern an der Natur.

Dank unseres Wildnistrackings ermöglichen wir Grundschüler:innen gemeinsam mit einem Wildnispädagogen regelmäßig nahegelegene Grünflächen zu erkunden. Die erste Schule aus Berlin-Moabit startete im Herbst 2021. Uns ist wichtig, Neugierde für die Natur bei den Kindern zu wecken, sodass diese mit viel Spaß und aus eigenem Antrieb dazulernen. Während der gemeinsamen Stunden an der frischen Luft, gehen die Kinder auf Spurensuche in der urbanen Wildnis. Sie ordnen z.B. im Sandkasten hinterlassene Abdrücke bestimmten Tieren zu, sie riechen an Blüten, ertasten Blätter, lauschen hervorstechenden Vogelstimmen und lernen die Eigenschaften der vier Jahreszeiten kennen. Um die neuen Eindrücke festhalten zu können, stellen wir den Kindern ein kleines Wildnistagebuch für wichtige Notizen zur Verfügung. So können sie am Abend ihren Eltern oder Geschwistern von ihren Erlebnissen berichten.

Das Feedback der Kinder war am Ende des Tages sehr positiv. Sie hatten Spaß an den Spielen und an der Natur. 

Lehrerin der Carl-Bolle-Grundschule

Uns freut, dass wir somit Stadtkinder wieder mehr für die Natur begeistern können und ihnen wichtiges Wissen spielerisch vermitteln. Wir legen mit diesem Programm einen Grundstein für eine sensiblere Gesellschaft, die wieder mehr in Einklang mit der Natur lebt und unsere Umwelt erhalten möchte.

Um das Wildnistracking möglich zu machen, danken wir herzlich der Deutschen Postcode Lotterie, die uns bei der Realisierung finanziell unterstützte.

Natur entdecken, Neugierde wecken

de_DEDE