Tree planting in Rugezi Marsh, Rwanda

In northern Rwanda is Rugezi Marsh, a wetland protected under the Ramsar Convention and a key area for biodiversity. The region is characterised by high population density and poverty. Combined with climate chaos, this puts intense pressure on natural resources.

The registered NGO Rwanda Wildlife Conservation Association, founded and run by local community members, has been active in Rwanda for several years. In their project work, they maintain a holistic, multidisciplinary approach to conservation and sustainable, educational solutions. The measures in the region around Rugezi are 100% supported by the government.

In cooperation with NABU Stiftung International, the RWCA planted 20,000 young native trees from its own nursery last autumn. Of these, 6,250 trees were contributed by DSUS funds amounting to 25,000 euros. This renaturalises natural forest on a total area of 9.1 ha.

Involved Parties

NABU Stiftung International
Rwanda Wildlife Conservation Association
Daniel Schlegel Umweltstiftung

Soil preparation and planting measures were carried out with the involvement of local community members. Children and young people from environmental organisations were also involved in the project. Education and the creation of environmental awareness among young and old characterise the events of the RWCA. Raising awareness among the local population promotes the long-term success of the environmental protection measures.

RWCA believes in the importance of planting indigenous species from their nursery. They see the work as raising trees rather than just planting them. Therefore, the young trees are nurtured for two years. Marsh rangers also regularly patrol the project area.

Valuable forests against climate change are being created in the project area. RWCA's philosophy brings back native flora and fauna and stands for meaningful educational work. Children and young people learn to value trees and to actively protect them. This creates harmony between people and nature. In addition, every single tree helps us through its CO2-saving potential.

 

en_GBEN

Baumpflanzungen im Rugezi-Sumpfgebiet, Ruanda

Im nördlichen Ruanda befindet sich Rugezi Marsh, ein nach der Ramsar-Konvention geschütztes Feuchtgebiet und ein Schlüsselgebiet für Biodiversität. Die Region ist geprägt von einer hohen Populationsdichte und Armut. In Verbindung mit dem Klimachaos übt das intensiven Druck auf die natürlichen Ressourcen aus.

Die registrierte NGO Rwanda Wildlife Conservation Association, gegründet und betrieben von lokalen Gemeindemitgliedern, ist seit einigen Jahren in Ruanda tätig. In ihrer Projektarbeit pflegen sie einen ganzheitlichen, multidisziplinären Ansatz für Naturschutz und nachhaltige, bildungspolitische Lösungen. Die Maßnahmen in der Region um Rugezi werden von der Regierung zu 100% unterstützt.

In Zusammenarbeit mit der NABU Stiftung International pflanzte die RWCA letzten Herbst 20.000 junge einheimische Bäume aus einer eigenen Baumschule. Davon wurden 6.250 Bäume durch Mittel der DSUS in Höhe von 25.000 Euro beigesteuert. Damit wird natürlicher Wald auf einer Fläche von insgesamt 9,1 ha renaturiert.

Beteiligte

NABU Stiftung International
Rwanda Wildlife Conservation Association
Daniel Schlegel Umweltstiftung

Bodenvorbereitung und Pflanzmaßnahmen erfolgten unter Einbeziehung von lokalen Gemeindeangehörigen. Bei der Aktion wurden auch Kinder und Jugendliche von Umweltverbänden involviert. Bildung und das Schaffen von Umweltbewusstsein unter Jung und Alt prägen die Events der RWCA. Die Sensibilisierung der ansässigen Bevölkerung fördert den langfristigen Erfolg der umweltschützenden Maßnahmen.

RWCA ist von der Wichtigkeit, einheimische Arten aus ihrer Baumschule zu pflanzen, überzeugt. Sie betrachten die Arbeit eher als Aufzucht von Bäumen und nicht nur als bloße Pflanzung. Deshalb werden die jungen Bäume zwei Jahre lang gepflegt. Sumpf-Ranger:innen patrouillieren zudem regelmäßig im Projektgebiet.

Im Projektgebiet entstehen wertvolle Wälder gegen den Klimawandel. RWCA’s Philosophie bringt ursprünglich heimische Flora und Fauna zurück und steht für bedeutungsvolle Bildungsarbeit. Kinder und Jugendliche erlernen, die Bäume wertzuschätzen und aktiv zu schützen. Damit entsteht ein Einklang zwischen Mensch und Natur. Zusätzlich hilft uns jeder einzelne Baum durch sein CO2-Einsparungspotenzial.

 

de_DEDE